Gastritis- please help?

Posted , 12 users are following.

Hello,

Has anyone else experienced gastritis? About a month ago I began to experience on and off upper stomach/rib pain, that I was, at the time, able to ignore. I also noticed I was burping a lot and feeling nauseous. This started to develop daily, so I spoke to a doctor, who prescribed 20mg of Omeprazole daily. 2 weeks in I felt no better, so again phoned the doctors and they said to continue on 20mg and use Gaviscon, if needed. I still feel no better- I would say the only thing is the rib pain isn't so severe. I am a teacher and I am finding it hard to be in work at the moment as I just cannot eat and feel constantly bleugh. Can anyone give me some good news? Will the Omeprazole start to kick in? Does this usually take a while to settle? I'm worried to phone the doctors again as it was only 6 days ago when they told me to continue the Omeprazole and add Gaviscon.

Thank you in advance 😃

0 likes, 30 replies

30 Replies

Next
  • Edited

Hi! I've been dealing with gastritis for almost three months now.

My symptoms are: constant upper abdominal discomfort (especially in the centre below the ribs- everyday), burping, occasional nausea (sometimes) and weight loss (is that a symptom?)

I've been on PPI's for the last few weeks but the abdominal discomfort just doesn't seem to get better. Yesterday, I visited another doctor and he changed up my medications a bit so I'm gonna try and see if that helps. Also, he recommended lifestyle and dietary changes. Mostly avoid spicy and oily food, preferably just have bland food. Walking at least once a day.

I'm planning to get an ultrasound done soon. I'll update here if that helps!

Also, I'm gonna insist on getting the

h. pylori test done if possible.

If you find any solution or anything that brings relief, please share here!

• Posted