Methotrexate and alcohol

Posted , 104 users are following.

Hi there,

I've only yesterday started on my methotrexate tablets and have just started reading the online forums and have became very worried! The number of people who are losing their hair seems incredible, is this a common side effect?

I'm 23 years old and drinking and work in a bar while i'm studying at University. Drinking and going out is a massive part of my life and I was just wondering if anyone could tell me if it's still possible to carry this on at all? I usually go out roughly twice a week and can drink up to 3 nights. I know of course I will be cutting down massively, but can I still do it at all?

I can only find negative forums on here about the drug and it's making me feel like the side effects aren't worth the risk... Does anyone feel like they can still live their lifes on this drug and it is worth taking?

Thanks for any advice you can give! A bit worried here...

7 likes, 107 replies

107 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi,

I thought if respond to your question due to the fact I have been on methotrexate for almost 10 years and just wanted to share with you some of my experiences on it.