Tip of the penis (meatus) is red and swollen like lips, what is the problem?

Posted , 59 users are following.

I am 29 years old, the tip of my penis (meatus) is red and swollen like lips (check the attached photos please), it has been like this since many years, sometimes the redness/swelling is little more other times is little less, I have never had sex before. There is no pain neither burning sensations, there is no blood when I urinate or ejaculate or even any type of strange discharges, everything feels just normal, it is a bit sensitive to touch yet, including the glans itself and sometimes it has an unpleasent smell.

I am uncircumcised and I cannot retract my foreskin all the way back, Lately I've started stretching the foreskin and I am seeing some results by exposing more of the glans. I haven't been cleaning underneath the foreskin before, just lately I've started washing it with water everyday. I have been masturbating since 10+ years almost everyday, and lately I have reduced it to around twice per week.

I would like to know if there is a problem with the tip of my penis opening being red and swollen? Do you think there is any serious problem with it? Is it normal that it smells unpleasant sometimes? any suggestions to reduce the swelling/redness and also reduce the sensitivity?

Sorry for the long description. Appreciate your kind advises and help.

3 likes, 76 replies

76 Replies

Next
  • Posted

I would defiantly have it looked at...could be some form of infection easily fixed...don't let it go.

• Posted

It doesn't look particularly red or swollen, and I'm not sure there's a problem there to be honest, but it wouldn't hurt to have it looked at.  I would regard the phimosis as an issue (though some men choose to just live with it), and while stretching may fix the problem, your GP or someone at a genitourinary medicine (GUM) clinic could also prescribe a steroid cream which may help.  I would expect the sensitivity to just fix itself over time.